Choosing to trust God

“…whosoever shall put their trust in God shall be supported in their trials, and their troubles, and their afflictions”
(https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/alma/36.3?lang=eng#2)

One of the hardest things to do when you are facing a trial—whether that trial is same gender attraction, an addiction, a mental illness, or any other challenge—is to put your trust in God, be patient, and endure.

Cause sometimes it isn’t part of God’s plan to deliver you immediately from the trial.

“…I know in whom I have trusted. My God hath been my support; he hath led me through mine afflictions in the wilderness; and he hath preserved me upon the waters of the great deep.”
(https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/2-ne/4.20?lang=eng#19)

God doesn’t always lead us AROUND the affliction, sometimes He leads us right THROUGH it.

Trials are painful. No one enjoys suffering. But there are few trials that we don’t look back on and realize that they made us better and stronger than we were before.

“we trust God will deliver us, notwithstanding the weakness of our armies, yea, and deliver us out of the hands of our enemies.”
(https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/alma/58.37?lang=eng#36)

Right now I feel like my trials are too much, that they are more than I can handle. I feel like my “armies” are too weak for my current “enemies”. But my only choices are either to give up, or to trust God to support me, help me through them, and eventually deliver me out of them.

So I guess the truth is that one of the hardest things to do when facing a trial is to NOT put your trust in God, to try to face it alone with only your own strength. I’ll admit, I’m not even sure God exists. But I know that when I choose to trust in Him, my burdens feel lighter.

Our trials won’t last forever. Never give up.

“…thine adversity and thine afflictions shall be but a small moment; And then, if thou endure it well, God shall exalt thee on high; thou shalt triumph over all thy foes.”
(https://www.lds.org/scriptures/dc-testament/dc/121.8?lang=eng#7)

“And it shall come to pass in that day that the Lord shall give thee rest, from thy sorrow, and from thy fear, and from the hard bondage wherein thou wast made to serve.”
(https://www.lds.org/scriptures/bofm/2-ne/24.3?lang=eng#2)

“Trust God and believe in good things to come…(He) sustain(s) us in our hour of need—and always will, even if we cannot recognize that intervention. Some blessings come soon, some come late, and some don’t come until heaven; but for those who embrace the gospel of Jesus Christ, they come.”
(https://www.lds.org/general-conference/1999/10/an-high-priest-of-good-things-to-come?lang=eng)

Leave a Reply

